Get Involved

In southwest New Brunswick, or anywhere:

Find out…

·      About federal science programs in your area and what they do:  check the web, make a call

·      Which federal science programs are being cut and which are being expanded: ask your Member of Parliament.  Visit Government of Canada, Support Ocean Science and other information websites

 

Support…

·      Science activities and events in your area:  attend a talk, visit an aquarium, help with a project

·      Local marine-based organizations:  learn about them, buy their products, be a member

 

Tell…

·      Others what you’ve learned about government science policy; encourage them to be aware and get involved

 

Contact…

·      Your Member of Parliament and federal Ministers to express your views and ask questions

·      Your local newspaper and TV and radio stations to ask for more coverage on the value of science to government policy and management decision-making

 

A partial contact list:

Federal MPs and Ministers

Member of Parliament for New Brunswick Southwest, John Williamson: John.Williamson@parl.gc.ca

Member of Parliament for other ridings:  find yours at http://www.parl.gc.ca/Parlinfo/Compilations/HouseOfCommons/MemberByPostalCode.aspx?Language=E&Menu=HOC

Federal Minister of Fisheries & Oceans, Hon. Gail Shea:  Min@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Federal Minister of the Environment, Hon. Leona Aglukkaq: Minister@ec.gc.ca

Official Opposition (NDP) Fisheries & Oceans Critic (Atlantic), Philip Toone: Philip.Toone@parl.gc.ca

Official Opposition (NDP) Environment Critic, Megan Leslie: Megan.Leslie@parl.gc.ca  

Liberal Fisheries & Oceans Critic, Lawrence MacAulay: Lawrence.Macaulay@parl.gc.ca

Liberal Environment Critic, John McKay: John.Mckay@parl.gc.ca

Green Party Leader and Environment Critic, Elizabeth May: Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca 

   **Send a postage-free letter to any of these, by name, at: House of Commons, Ottawa, Ontario  K1A OA6
 

Southwest New Brunswick media

The St Croix Courier, St. Stephen, NB:  editor@stcroixcourier.ca   Tel. 506-466-3660

Telegraph Journal, Saint John, NB: Charlotte County reporter

gowan.derwin@telegraphjournal.com               
  tel 506-466-6639. Letters to the editor – www.telegraphjournal.com/letterstotheeditor

CBC Radio One, Saint John, NB:  Tel. 506-632-7710

CBC TV, Saint John, NB: Tel. 506-632-7710